My Newbury Comics Adventure! – If you love Comic Books, Graphic Novels, Manga, Game of Thrones, Rick & Morty, Vinyl Records, or anything that makes you an Awesome, Badass Geek then you need to stop by this store!!!

Greetings fellow ComixBawses!

IMG_1008
“Where are my testicles Summer? Where have they gone?” 

I recently discovered a store called Newbury Comics in the mall I work at a couple of weeks ago and I CAN’T BELIEVE I had been walking right by it for about two months!!! I suppose I had missed it because I’m always rushing to the food court so I can stuff as much pizza salad down my throat as possible in my way-too-quick 30 minute break. A girl needs her energy right? Anyway, I believe it opened sometime before Christmas . . . I can remember seeing advertisements on its soon-to-be storefront and I remember being excited about it then, but I’d been in the middle of my workday and was too busy to stop in once it first opened.

While I was working one of my shifts, one client came in and I saw her bag from Newbury Comics and I asked her about it. She was really passionate about the store and we got into a pretty cool conversation about comic books and about Black Panther’s movie release. I was thinking: Okay after work, I’m DEFINITELY going to make my way into this store! 

I kept checking the time as I was standing behind my register at work and it felt like the end of my shift couldn’t come soon enough! You know the feeling you get when you’re looking forward to doing something new? Like, the little butterflies you feel swimming around . . . well flying around in your gut. Butterflies can’t swim. It would be cool if they could . . . sorry I’m getting sidetracked. But yeah, that was the feeling I had. I was so excited!

So, the end of my shift finally came and I packed up my stuff and speed-walked to the other end of the mall (my feet were screaming, but they forgave me later) and I made my way to Newbury Comics!

Wow . . . just wow, was my initial thought. I found another store I could call my happy place. 

The first thing I noticed was the store’s massive size, then I noticed the lighting. I loved how bright it was, but it wasn’t that hideous kind of blinding white light . . . it was bright, but still muted and non headache-inducing somehow. Then, I turned my head to the left and saw a giant—like enormous—wall of POP! by Funko Dolls!  IT.WAS.SO.COOL! My boyfriend and I had been talking about starting a collection of these dolls not too long ago. I called him up and FaceTimed him while I was in the store and showed him this huge wall of dolls. They had dolls from: Rick and MortyBlack PantherGame of ThronesGuardians of the Galaxy, Harry Potter, Fallout, Suicide Squad, even the Golden Girls! My mind was blown! Like . . . brains falling out of my head kind of blown. That was too gory . . . Sorry! *picks brains up from the floor*

But like, seriously LOOK!!! 👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾

IMG_0807-2.jpg
There’s sooooo many of them! This was only about half of it! 

 

MY FACE 👇🏾👇🏾

mind-blown

 

IMG_0809
I love Rick and Morty, so I got a close up! 

 

But yeah, I scanned the wall of Funko dolls and took some pics of them and I just thought they were so cute! I can’t wait to one day start my collection with my boyfriend; we both think it’ll be super fun! Then to the right of me, there was a huge wall of t-shirts and socks on display and I saw a Black girl on a poster modeling a Wonder Woman t-shirt and it made my heart warm. 👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾

img_1007.jpg
Isn’t she freaking gorgeous?!?!

 

I’ve walked into a bunch of stores where the models on the posters meet typical beauty standards: tall, thin, White, blonde, blue-eyed. I think there’s beauty in all women and I do believe that the beauty industry is making strides in order to be more inclusive . . . but there’s always room for improvement. I’m pretty sure we’ll get there one day. Then in the back of the store . . .Whew! The back of the store guys *swoons* was just . . . WOW! I’m saying “wow” like Leonardo DiCaprio’s character Jordan Belfort did when he first smoked crack with Jonah Hill’s Donny Azoff in The Wolf of Wall Street. Sorry! That just popped into my head. That type of wow though!

Sidenote!Check out these hilarious tees I found!! 👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾👇🏾 Lol. Lol. Lol.!!! I would wear these in a heartbeat. ♥️ Would you wear ’em?

 

Anyway, the back basically holds the heart of the store. Business in the front . . . party in the back! You’ll see a bunch of vinyl records and CDs and then you’ll notice that the back of the store has designated sections. The left is labeled MANGA, the middle is labeled COMICS, and the right is labeled GRAPHIC NOVELS. I made a beeline to the graphic novels section because they’re my FAVE!!! (Once day I’ll write a post about the difference between comics and graphic novels—the terms are typically used interchangeably, but if you want to be technical, they aren’t. Sometimes, I slip up and use them interchangeably too, out of habit. Gah! I need to stop! Damn me!)

Oops I’m rambling . . . moving along.

IMG_0999I perused the graphic novel section and found my all-time favorite comic Saga; the main display in the graphic novel section was Marko! I was like: there’s my baby! I love you Marko! Marry me!! Then, I saw this cover of one book called Black Comix Returns and the cover had this magical and mystical vibe. There were black, violet, and bright purple hues with the sketch of a natural-haired Black woman on the backdrop (she looked like a mystical spin on the character Shuri from Black Panther). Then I saw another graphic novel called Incognegro. The title made me chuckle—is that bad? But it did. I saw a few other titles that I’m interested in picking up. Then I saw a bright pink—hot pink—cover that said in bold, black print “SEX CRIMINALS.” I’m not sure if the hot pink caught my eye or if the word SEX did . . . because I’m kind of a perv—clearly. Hey, don’t act like you wouldn’t have been drawn in too!!!! Anyway, I bought it!

IMG_1047That’s what I’m currently reading now and my review with my own personal thoughts about sex will be interjected into it as well. It’ll be posted this Monday (February 26th), so I hope that you’ll check it out!

But yeah, then I snooped around the COMICS section and bought a Black Panther comic as well! The employees were super nice and chill and I signed up to receive emails about new releases when I was at the check out counter. I didn’t get the chance to head over to the MANGA section because my dad was on his way to pick me up, but the next time I go in, I’ll def check it out!

Do you have a Newbury Comics near you? Have you checked out their website? Do you own any POP! by Funko dolls? Where do you buy your books, comics, graphic novels, or manga or music? Let me know in the comments!

ComixBawse-5

 

 

 

Advertisements

Posted by

I'm an avid comic reader and I want to share my analyses of them with the world. I love cats and brownies and I've been told on many occasions that I'm weird-but-in-a-good-way!

9 thoughts on “My Newbury Comics Adventure! – If you love Comic Books, Graphic Novels, Manga, Game of Thrones, Rick & Morty, Vinyl Records, or anything that makes you an Awesome, Badass Geek then you need to stop by this store!!!

    1. OMG!!! Thanks for this sweet comment! I’m glad you enjoyed my humor! Yeah that president tee was freaking hilarious! I had to share it lol! Yeah! This place is really great! I loved it! I just went back today actually just to be in there. I love book stores so much . . . maybe too much!

      Like

  1. Hey girl sorry my blog accidentally unfollow but I followed back! I wanted to tell you because you were asking about e ARCs that NetGalley has the comic book you showed in this posts as a read now. Which pretty means you can sign up for NetGalley even as a new blogger and you can at least get the Read Now copies to read digitally. They just send me a whole list of graphic novels and comic books that are read now. Eventually when you get out there more doing the reviews for publishers via NetGalley opens you up to all kinds of resources and free stuff. I get free advanced reader copies, signed books, swag which is stuff the author will add a long with their books or send sometimes like awesome playing cards with characters, signed book marks and stuff like that. I just thought of you because you asked what an eARC is and I saw they have Black Comix Returns as a Read Now. Takes a bit before you get approved for the requested titles that are from bigger publishers but you will get there in no time if you ever decide to check it out. Sorry now I’m rambling. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow! That’s SO awesome!!! I’m definitely going to sign up for it! That sounds really cool! Like super cool lol. Don’t worry, I ramble too! I actually like when people have a lot to say haha! I appreciate this a lot! I’ll definitely let you know how that goes! I hope I can get approved. Omg Black Comix Returns is on there!! There’s so much I didn’t know! Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just saw this!!!! Damn you WordPress!!!😒 I have a post in my drafts for beginners on NetGalley I am working on! They have some cool Fri ead Now ones right now!😍 I fot Black Comix Returns because it was a Read Now so anybody can get the read nows! Did you get it girl? Sorry I didn’t see this I could’ve helped you out! So sorry!😓

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s